NYS Names Master Teachers

New York State Names 10 BCSD Teachers as Master Teachers
Posted on 10/03/2018
This year, 10 teachers in the Binghamton City School District were named New York State Master Teachers by Governor Cuomo. The NYS Master Teacher Program consists of outstanding teachers recognized for their dedication to providing the most innovative STEM education to their students, their commitment to professional growth, and their enthusiasm for sharing their successful practices with colleagues in their schools, districts and regions.
“I could not be more proud of these educators,” said Superintendent of Schools Dr. Tonia Thompson. “They are truly dedicated to their craft, always searching for ways to learn and grow their profession. They exemplify the spirit of being life-long learners and I am thrilled that so many of the candidates were from our district.”
To apply to become a Master Teacher, a teacher must engage in peer mentoring and intensive content-oriented professional development opportunities throughout the academic year; Work closely with pre-service and early career teachers to foster a supportive environment for the next generation of STEM teachers and attend required regional cohort meetings, participate in and lead several professional development sessions each year.
"Teachers dedicate their lives to educating our youth and inspiring them to succeed inside and outside the classroom," said Lieutenant Governor Kathy Hochul. "I congratulate the 275 teachers who will join the New York State Master Teacher program for their invaluable leadership and skills in STEM education. The Master Teacher program continues to expand, recognizing their growth and commitment to educating students in the STEM fields of the future."

Of the 275 selected Master Teachers, more than 76 percent have been in the classroom for 10 or more years and 22 percent have been teaching for more than 20 years. All Master Teachers are active beyond their classrooms, serving as curriculum department leaders or on district and state-level committees.

Congratulations to:
Dyan Andrew
Constance Buchinsky
Angela Driscoll
Patricia Fiato
Kelly Hudock
Mary Keenan
Emily Koval
Erin Mellander
Denise Parsons
Karen Zetzsche

Previously Recognized Master Teachers:
Amy Brainard
Barbara LaBarre
Susan Mayer - Emeritus
Jacqueline Scallan - Emeritus
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.